

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

440 Harcourt Avenue Seaside, CA 93955 Telephone (831) 899-6706 FAX (831) 899-6227

April 6, 2017

The Honorable Jim Beall 15th Senate District State Capitol, Room 5066 Sacramento, CA 95814 Via email to: Lynne.Andres@sen.ca.gov

RE: SUPPORT for SB 1 (Beall): Road Repair and Accountability Act of 2017

Dear Senator Beall:

On behalf of the City of Seaside, I write in support of Senate Bill (SB) 1: Transportation Funding (as amended, April 3, 2017). This bill, known as the Road Repair and Accountability Act of 2017, creates the Road Maintenance and Rehabilitation Program to address deferred maintenance on the state highway system and the local street and road system. SB 1 pumps \$5.24 billion annually into "Fix it First" highway and road repairs and mass transit. **The City of Seaside strongly supports this bill.**

The City of Seaside specifically supports the set-aside of \$200 million annually for the California Transportation Commission (CTC) to allocate to road maintenance and rehabilitation projects in counties that have received voter approval of taxes or that have imposed fees, including uniform developer fees, which taxes or fees are dedicated solely to transportation improvements. As of November 8, 2016, Monterey County is a self-help county, and the Transportation Agency for Monterey County (TAMC) will use these funds as a state match for the voter-approved projects.

The City of Seaside supports your efforts to stabilize and increase transportation funding. This bill would facilitate better planning and programming by making the actual amount of transportation funding in any given year more predictable. This bill would help TAMC, Monterey County, Cities and Caltrans to do much-needed roadway and highway improvements. Thank you very much for your sponsorship of this important bill and for supporting efforts to improve transportation in California.

Sincerely,

1 Aulio

Ralph Rubio Mayor

 cc: Hon. Anthony Cannella, 12th Senate District Hon. Bill Monning, 17th Senate District Hon. Anna Caballero, 30th Assembly District Hon. Mark Stone, 29th Assembly District Debra L. Hale, TAMC